top of page

YSDF19 Schools, Colleges and Groups announced

Updated: Jul 23, 2021

The line up for the 2019 Yorkshire Schools Dance Festival has been announced... and this year's festival is set to be a bobby dazzler! 56 schools, colleges and groups will take to the stage across two weekends of dance - 16th/17th and 23rd/24th November - at Central Hall, University of York.

New for 2019

Alongside 45 schools and groups that have taken part in YSDF in previous years, we're delighted to welcome 11 new performance groups for 2019:

  • Dean Field Community Primary School (Halifax)

  • Holy Trinity Junior School (Ripon)

  • Leavening Community Primary School (Malton)

  • Mechanics Performing Arts (Wakefield)

  • The Rodillian Academy (Wakefield)

  • Ryburn Valley High School (Sowerby Bridge)

  • Selby High School

  • St Paul's CE Primary School (York)

  • St Olave’s School (York)

  • Staynor Hall Community Primary Academy (Selby)

  • Westfield Community Primary School (York)

Welcome to YSDF - we're looking forward to working with you. The full list of performance groups can be found below.

A celebration of dance

The Yorkshire Schools Dance Festival celebrates dance opportunities for children and young people in schools, colleges and wider community settings. The event is non-competitive and all ages, experience and dance styles are welcomed. In the past 7 years we've worked with 94 schools/groups and over 4000 young dancers. 

Each school/group choreograph and perform a 5 minute dance piece in response to an annual theme (the 2019 theme will be announced soon). With the support of the York & North Yorkshire Dance Network, we also provide professional development opportunities for teachers and dance artists working in schools to give them the chance to work with renowned professional dancers and choreographers to refresh skills and approaches they might use when working with their groups. 

Our venue provides a stunning platform for the performers. Each of the four days will see an audience of over 1000 people come together to enjoy the hard work, creativity and dedication of both performers and the professionals they work with. You can get a taste of what to expect by watching our 2017 film.

The full 2019 line-up

  • Barnsley Academy

  • Bellfield Primary School (Hull)

  • Burton Leonard Church of England Primary School (Harrogate)

  • CAPA College (Wakefield)

  • CAPA Juniors (Wakefield)

  • Clifton Green Primary School (York)

  • Cowling Primary School (Keighley)

  • Dean Field Community Primary School (Halifax)

  • Dunnington CE Primary School (York)

  • E.K Galaxy Cheer & Dance (Harrogate)

  • Gomersal Primary School (Cleckheaton)

  • Greatwood Community Primary and Nursery School (Skipton)

  • Hall Cross Academy (Doncaster)

  • Haxby Road Primary Academy (York)

  • Hempland Primary Academy (York)

  • Holy Trinity Junior School (Ripon)

  • Huntington Primary Academy (York)

  • Ingleton Primary School

  • Ingleton Youth Dance

  • Knavesmire Primary School (York)

  • Leavening Community Primary School (Malton)

  • Lord Deramore's Primary School (York)

  • Main Stage Dance Academy (Bradford)

  • Mechanics Performing Arts (Wakefield)

  • Melbourne Primary School (York)

  • Naburn CE Primary School (York)

  • Northern Dance Academy (York)

  • Outwood Academy Ripon

  • Pannal Primary School (Harrogate)

  • Platform (Cottingham)

  • Poppleton Road Primary School (York)

  • Ralph Butterfield Primary School (York)

  • Robert Wilkinson Primary Academy (York)

  • Rodillian Academy (Wakefield)

  • Ryburn Valley High School (Sowerby Bridge)

  • Scarcroft Primary School (York)

  • Selby High School

  • Skipton Girls High School

  • St Aelred's RC Primary School (York)

  • St Barnabas CE Primary School (York)

  • St John Fisher Catholic High School (Harrogate)

  • St Lawrence’s Primary School (York)

  • St Olave’s School (York)

  • St Oswald’s CE Primary School (York)

  • St Paul's CE Primary School (York)

  • St Wilfrid's RC Primary (York)

  • Stamford Bridge Primary School

  • Staynor Hall Community Primary Academy (Selby)

  • Tang Hall Primary School (York)

  • The Snaith School (Goole)

  • The Space Dance Studio (Hull)

  • Tockwith CE Primary Academy (York)

  • Trinity Academy Halifax

  • Westfield Primary Community School (York)

  • York College Performing Arts

  • York Youth Dance

Performance days will be announced before the summer holidays and tickets will be available from September.


bottom of page